Close

Not a member yet?Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Metro IAF November Leadership Training via Zoom

ATTEND ONE FULL DAY SESSION & TWO EVENING TRAINING SESSIONS



* Pick ONE: Friday, November 13th OR Saturday, November 14th (10am-8:30pm EST / 9am - 7:30pm CST)

* Attend BOTH evening sessions: Tuesdays Nov 17th & 24th (7:30-9pm EST / 6:30-8pm CST)

Register by Monday, November 9th, 2020 HERE

Once registered, a link to the training & reading materials will be sent to you prior to the training.

Out-of-IAF Network Tuition due at time of Registration.

In this moment of pandemic illness and loss of life, political paralysis and lack of leadership, economic upheaval, and long-standing racial injustice, how can ordinary people operating as talented leaders make meaningful change to better our communities,  our cities, our states, and our country for their families? Participants will be invited to explore the universals of broad-based organizing, refined over the Industrial Areas Foundation’s 80-year history, as essential practices to address the critical issues of our day: containing the pandemic, criminal justice reform, wealth inequality, affordable housing, living wage jobs and the right to organize, immigrant rights, environmental racism and climate change, among many others. 

The training will be a mix of lecture, reading/small group discussion, and role plays.

Key questions to be addressed in the training are:

  • Why is power always the first issue in organizing? Why must we understand power in all its dimensions and know how to organize and exercise it consistent with our values to make change?  
  • Why is organization and why are mediating institutions critical to building long-term power to make large-scale change?
  • Why must leaders engage in effective action to develop ourselves as public leaders, to build the power of our organizations, and to secure the public respect and change we demand and fight for and for which we negotiate?  
  • Why are relational meetings and house meetings the most important actions for a leader in our democracy?

PARTICIPANTS:

The training is open to new organizers & key leaders from member and prospective Metro IAF member institutions.

REGISTRATION Due by Monday, November 9th, 2020.

Individuals attending from an IAF member organization:

Tuition fee covered by IAF/Metro IAF Affiliate contracts

Non-IAF participants pay $300 for tuition (due by Monday, November 9th).

 

DAY TRAINING SCHEDULE

  1. Session I  10:00am-Noon EST (9:00-11:00am CST)
    Break
  2. Session II 2:00-4:00pm EST (1:00-3:00pm CST)
    Break
  3. Session III 7:00-8:30pm EST (6:00-7:30pm CST)

 

Questions?
Julie.Rowley@metro-iaf.org • 414-350-3135

 

 

Date: 
Friday, November 13, 2020 to Tuesday, November 24, 2020
Overview: 
Learn how ordinary people operating as talented leaders can make meaningful change to better our communities.